Upcoming Pentest Lab

Having read the latest blog posts from Syn Junkie, I have decided to setup my own pentest lab.

Following Syn’s recommendations I have decided to to lean on virtualization to provide the basis for my lab.
I too have 3 laptops, 1 x Lenovo Thinkpad Z61p running Citrix Xenserver 5.5.0
1 x Lenovo Thinkpad X60s running Ubuntu 9.10 and KVM
1 x ASUS EEEPC 1000HE Hackbook running Backtrack 4
I have chosen to create a completely re usable lab system, by creating templates and snapshots of the basic OS’s needed for pentesting, ie XP Pro SP1, SP2 and SP3 and so on for other OS’s.
This is quite time consuming to setup, but the payback is the speed at which you can create a new lab setup by just creating new VM’s from the templates and snapshots.
Since my last post way back in August 09 I have been getting to grips with the Metasploit framework and now feel confident to document some of my experiences, using the above lab setup.
I have to credit the bulk of my Metasploit knowledge to the guys who setup and contributed to the Metasploit Unleashed Training course – http://www.offensive-security.com/metasploit-unleashed/.
I look forward to publishing my exploits with my new Pentesting lab.
Leave a Reply

